Main Guide to go Restaurants Hotels Articles


Abdukholiq G'ijduvani kuddisu sirrihu. Khoja Muhammad Arif ar-Revgari. The mausoleum of Khoja Mahmud Anjir Fagnavi. Memorial complex of Khoja Ali Romitani. Khoja Muhammad Baba Samosi memorial complex. Khwaja Syed Amir Kulol Bukhari memorial complex. Bahouddin Naqshband.

Kokand is one of the oldest cities in Central Asia. It was known by various names. In that time the city was the capital of the Kokand Khanate, which existed from 1709 to 1876 in the territory of actual Uzbekistan.Throughout the history of the Kokand Khanate, 29 rulers have been replaced, the most famous of them was the last one — Khudoyar Khan. During his reign he lost the throne four times but regained the power. He did a lot to decorate the city: during his reign, Khudoyar Khan built neighborhoods, mosques, madrassas. In the old part of the city, there conserved khan's palace "Urda", monuments of people's residential architecture, mosques, madrassas and memorial buildings of the XIX — early XX century. The city quickly turned into a major Action Center in Turkestan, surpassing even Tashkent in the number of banks. Kokand is located in the east of Uzbekistan, in the southwestern part of the Fergana Valley. Kokand is one of the three major cities of the Fergana region, along with Fergana and Margilan.

Khudoyar Khans’s Palace

Citadel Kokand Urda is known as the Khudoyar Khan palace. The construction of the palace was started during the reign of the Kokand Khanate by Muhammad Alikhan, before the birth of Khudoyar Khan. In 1822, Umar Khan's minor son Muhammad Alikhan ascended the throne. Partially the state affairs on behalf of the heir to the throne were managed by his mother Nadira, a famous Uzbek poet and patroness of science and art. By her order the construction of the palace was started. But soon for unknown reasons, the construction of the palace was suspended. It resumed in 1863, during the reign of Khudoyar Khan. The palace was built for four years. The total area of the palace is 4 hectares, the height of the foundation is three meters.At the entrance of the main portal on the upper part there is a beautifully decorated inscription in Arabic: "The Great Said Muhammad Khudoyar Khan". On the right it is situated a minaret lined with ceramic tiles. The palace consisted of 119 rooms. The Throne room and Reception hall.

Architectural complex Jami

The construction of the complex began by the order of the Kokand ruler Alimkhan, later the construction was continued by his brother Umarkhan. Legend says that before putting the first brick of the mosque, Umarkhan called everyone together and asked: "Who of the present people can say with confidence that he has never committed any sin in his life?" According to the tradition, the first stone of the future mosque it should put a righteous and pious person. But no one answered this question. Then Umarkhan laid the first brick with his own hand, and the residents of the city gave him the nickname "Jannat Makon", which means "worthy of paradise". The western part of the courtyard is occupied by an impressive aiwan, which is supported by hundreds of wooden columns, which are made of a particular solid and qualified type of tree.

Madrasah Kamol-kazi

Madrasah was erected in 1830-1832 years Children of the local nobles studied there. The building was constructed in the classical traditions of Kokand's architecture. It consists of the premises of the former classroom (darshana), one-story hujras (room for students) located around the courtyard and the outside Aiwan mosque on four columns The entrance part is decorated with an ornament peshtak (main portal) with cylindrical towers at the corners and towering domed lanterns. The decoration of the peshtak consists of a completely covered mosaic tile ornament. Behind the gates of the peshtak it is situated a mionakhana (lobby), and above it there is a former classroom, its balcony overlooked the main facade.

Norbut-biy’s Madrasah

The construction style and design of Norbut-biy's madrasah is very similar to typical Bukhara monuments of the XVIIl-XIX centuries. The main entrance, which is decorated with a massive front peshtak (portal), is oriented to the north. To the right of the entrance it is possible to see the darshana (study room), where classes were held; to the left - the domed Mosque, and in the center - the aiwan for lessons in the warm season. There were 24 hujras (student's room) around the courtyard. The entrance doors of the central portal are decorated with carved ornaments with floral patterns, but the interior of the madrasah is very modest, without frills. The brickwor was laid in the style of that time.

Dakhma-I Shakhon

Umarkhan, the most peaceful ruler of Kokand, was buried here. Umarkhana led a righteous, religious way of life, helped poor persons, constructed madrassas and mosques, built bazaars and residential quarters. Moreover, he practiced art and literature. Examples of his work can be seen on the entrance doors of the tomb. The well - preserved necropolis consists of several parts: a mosque with an aiwan, a domed room with portals, and a family tomb. The most notable burial is the grave of Umarkhan himself.

Similar articles
Abdukholiq G'ijduvani kuddisu sirrihu.

In the Islamic world, the Khojagon-Naqshbandiya, Yassaviya, and Qubravia s…


Khorezm is the oldest oasis situated in the n…


Tashkent is the capital of the Republic of Uz…


Thousands of cities exist on earth, and each …


A city like a fairy tale, Bukhara was called …